Who’s the nicest celebrity you’ve ever met?

Who's the nicest celebrity you've ever met? by @gmc10000

Answer by Girish Mallenahally:

He has a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Stanford University.

He was a programmer at Google.

He developed an application as a side project.

Google could not find a better name for the application, he was convinced and named the application after him.

That application was a sudden hit and became India’s most favorite site. I really loved that application. I was as active as I am now on Quora.

In 2007, I went on a business trip to Mountain View, California.

I jotted down some Ideas to ease out one boring afternoon.

I was looking for the email address to send the ideas to. I could find his address, but I knew he may not check my email because he was very popular, and he may have had a backlog of thousands of e-mails.

I found a product manager’s email address on their blog. It was around 1.20 that afternoon when I sent the email. I also informed in the email that I am currently visiting Mountain View.

Because ideas had merit, I knew most likely I would get a reply, but little did I know that the product manager would ask if I can come to Googleplex to meet up with them at 3 pm!

Who is he?

Orkut Buyukkokten, once India's social media darling orkut.com’s founder!

When I expressed my surprise in seeing him, he told me that “The world is a better place when we get to know each other, when we are a little less strange to each other.” In fact, that was Orkut.com's mission too!

Later, I was one of his ~three hundred friends on Orkut!

What a nice guy! what a nice surprise for me!

I have worked with a good number of millionaires and billionaires, but he is easily the nicest celebrity I know!

He has a colorful personality, and perhaps it is evident in his dress and car license plate! And, the product manager, Zachary John, who introduced us took this photo of us.

[Google Image]

Who's the nicest celebrity you've ever met?

Leave a Reply

